What next? Don’t stop me now …

Now that I’ve covered the 3 days of the 2011 British Aphasiology conference I am keen to keep blogging. My previous attempts have tended to peter out quite quickly through a combination of lack of motivation, lack of time, lack of creativity and so on and so on.

Motivation - If a pretty poster and a cute saying are all it takes to motivate you, you probably have a very easy job. The kind robots will be doing soon

So I’m very pleased to see that people have actually been reading what I’ve written. I’d originally thought that blogging would be a more motivating form of reflective writing (i.e. CPD) in the hope that my thoughts may also be useful for other people. Naturally there’d then also be the possibility of directly engaging with others through the use of comments and so on (eagerly awaiting first comments by the way!). Particular thanks for the greater than anticipated reader numbers go to Fiona a fellow SLT in the North East and BAS twitterer and Liz who runs the fantastic SaLT-Mine website.

This is what motivates me - that you, and others are reading this

So my plans are to continue blogging and my tentative aim is to post at least once a week. Not quite sure on what to blog about at the moment but I’m sure I can cover some of my experiences in my PhD work and in whatever I end up doing next career-wise. A few thoughts I’ve had so far on future topics include:

  • The challenges of becoming a ‘competent’ SLT from newly-qualified SLT when your first position is research orientated.
  • The uses of social media (e.g. Facebook, Twitter) as a learning resource for SLTs and SLT students (from my experiences).
  • Increasing research capacity in SLT clinical contexts (i.e. summarising what I’ve learnt from my first 12 months within my NHS position as Research Facilitator for SLT in the North East)
  • I’m sure there was at least one more I had in mind but it appears to have slipped my mind.

I’ll also no doubt do some posts on PhD / Research experiences, especially considering how I’m very quickly approaching my submission deadline with viva to follow.

What I’d like to suggest is that if people are interested in any particular topics that I may have experience on then please add a comment and I’ll see what I can do. I’m going to try to make this as useful a resource for others as I possibly can by adding links and signposts to resources where I can.

So, thanks for reading so far and I’ll gratefully receive any feedback and suggestions for future directions.

Chris

About chrissp1980
Currently a lecturer in speech pathology in North Queensland, Australia. I'm lecturing in acquired disorders of speech and language and also attempting to enthuse students in conducting clinically-relevant projects using principles of Evidence-Based Practice. Wish me luck!

One Response to What next? Don’t stop me now …

  1. SLPeepEcho says:

    I enjoy your “ramblings” :)

Leave a Reply

